Cu Chi Tunnels, a popular destination for both domestic and foreign tourists thanks to its unique historical and architectural values, may soon join UNESCO’s list of world heritage.
The People’s Committee of Ho Chi Minh City is working on a dossier seeking UNESCO’s recognition for the tunnels.
Located in Tan Phu Trung and Phuoc Vinh An communes in Cu Chi district, about 70km from downtown HCM City, the tunnels were built by local residents and soldiers using simple tools from 1946 to 1968 as shelters from US and Saigon troops during the war.
Initially, they dug only short sections with simple structure to hide documents, weapons and resistance members. The tunnels were gradually connected and extended into a system which by 1965 had a combined length of about 200km of underground trenches arranged in three floors. The deepest floor is about 8-12 metres under the ground.