1 Comment

The Lenggong Valley in Perak is among the newest sites to be included as World Heritage after this year’s annual conference.

Sites in Iran, Malaysia, Canada, Slovenia, Spain, Germany, Portugal and France on UNESCO’s World Heritage List
Unesco, 30 June 2012

Lenggong Valley, Perak, gets World Heritage Site status
The Star, 01 July 2012

Unesco declares Lenggong Valley world heritage site
The Malaysian Insider, 01 July 2012

The World Heritage Committee on Saturday afternoon added the following sites to UNESCO’s World Heritage List: Gonbad-e Qābus (Iran), Archaelogical Heritage of the Lenggong Valley (Malaysia), The Landscape of Grand Pré (Canada); Heritage of Mercury (Almadén and Idrija (Slovenia/Spain); Margravial Opera House Bayreuth (Germany); Garrison Border Town of Elvas and its Fortifications (Portugal); and Nord-Pas de Calais Mining Basin (France).

Archaelogical Heritage of the Lenggong Valley (Malaysia): S ituated in the lush Lenggon Valley, the property includes four archaeological sites in two clusters which span close to two million years, one of the longest records of early man in a single locality, and the oldest outside the African continent. It features open-air and cave sites with Palaeolithic tool workshops, evidence of early technology. The number of sites found in the relatively contained area, suggests the presence of a relatively large, semi-sedentary population with cultural remains from the Palaeolithic, Neolithic and Metal ages.

Found this site useful? Show support by Buying Me a Coffee

One Reply to “Lenggong Valley to be put on World Heritage List”

  1. When the news came out on 1 July, Bernama issued a report which many of the papers copied (Sun, Malay Mail, NST). Unfortunately the report had some inaccuracies…………………
    “Information Communication and Culture minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said ….
    “So now, we can add the Lenggong Valley to Penang, Melaka, Mount Kinabalu and the Niah Caves as heritage sites under UNESCO.”

    Other reports said
    “Lenggong’s listing means Malaysia now has five areas designated as World Heritage sites.
    The others are George Town in Penang, Malacca, Mt Kinabalu in Sabah and Gua Niah in Sarawak.”

    Niah is not WH site, it should have read Gunung Mulu National Park. And Malaysia only has 4 sites as Penang and Melaka are listed as one site.

    By the evening of the 2nd the mistakes had been realised and new reports were issued!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.