Angkor Wat, Bagan to be tourist sister cities

No Comments

A tourism cooperation will be signed next year between the governments of Myanmar and Cambodia to jointly promote Angkor and Bagan as sister cities.

As part of the ‘two countries, one destination’ campaign, the Myanmar and Cambodia tourism ministers will ink a Memorandum of Agreement to tie Angkor Wat and the Bagan Cultural City, said U Kyaw Swa Min, a member of Working Group Committee for Angkor-Bagan tourism cooperation.

Source: Angkor Wat, Bagan to be tourist sister cities

See also:

Bagan and Luang Prabang – sister cities

No Comments

Two ancient capitals are named sister cities, following an agreement signed by Myanmar and Laos. Founded around the 8th century, Luang Prabang is a World Heritage Site that was the royal capital of the kingdom with the same name. Bagan was founded in the 9th century but did not become the capital of the Burmese empire until the turn of the firt millenium. It is not a World Heritage Site because the military junta decided to muck up a lot of the restoration work on the many ancient structures that dot the landscape. The agreement to be sister cities is aimed at increasing tourist numbers.

photo credit: poida.smith

photo credit: amsfrank

Bagan, Luang Prabang named sister cities
Myanmar Times & Business Review, 1-7 June 2009
Read More