Bagan and Luang Prabang – sister cities

No Comments

Two ancient capitals are named sister cities, following an agreement signed by Myanmar and Laos. Founded around the 8th century, Luang Prabang is a World Heritage Site that was the royal capital of the kingdom with the same name. Bagan was founded in the 9th century but did not become the capital of the Burmese empire until the turn of the firt millenium. It is not a World Heritage Site because the military junta decided to muck up a lot of the restoration work on the many ancient structures that dot the landscape. The agreement to be sister cities is aimed at increasing tourist numbers.

photo credit: poida.smith

photo credit: amsfrank

Bagan, Luang Prabang named sister cities
Myanmar Times & Business Review, 1-7 June 2009
Read More