A feature on the Ho Citadel, which was inscribed as a world heritage site this year.
Ho Citadel â€“ Vietnamâ€™s unique rock work
Vietnam Net Bridge, 30 June 2011
The citadel was built by rocks of 1.5 meters long on average, some are up to 6 meters long. The rocks are overlapped on each other without any kind of mortar. The citadel wall is quite untouched after more than six centuries.
Ho Citadel locates in adjacent to the four villages: lay Giai, Xuan Giai, Thuong Giai and Dong Mon in two districts Vinh Long and Vinh Tien, in Vinh Lac District, Thanh Hoa province. It was the capital of Vietnam from 1397 to 1407.
The citadel includes three sections: La Thanh and bamboo hedge; water trench and citadel wall; and internal area. The internal section has palaces such as: Hoang Nguyen, Nhan Tho, Phu Cuc, Dong Cung, Dong Thai Mieu, Tay Thai Mieu, Diem Canh,–with marble-paved roads connecting different palaces to each other.
The outside of the citadel are constructed works such as: Bao Thanh (Ly Cung) palace, altar of the sky and the earth, patterned-brick access to the sky and the earth altar, road from Thien ly (fragrant cynanthz) to Hoa Chau.
The citadel was constructed from 1397 to 1401, and some modification was continued in 1403.