1 Comment

At long last, the historic cities of Malacca and Georgetown have been inscribed into the UNESCO World Heritage list!

Ker Lok See Temple
photo credit: krismartis

Eight new sites, from the Straits of Malacca, to Papua New Guinea and San Marino, added to UNESCO’s World Heritage List
UNESCO World Heritage Centre, 7 July 2008

Melaka and George Town, historic cities of the Straits of Malacca (Malaysia) have developed over 500 years of trading and cultural exchanges between East and West in the Straits of Malacca. The influences of Asia and Europe have endowed the towns with a specific multicultural heritage that is both tangible and intangible. With its government buildings, churches, squares and fortifications, Melaka demonstrates the early stages of this history originating in the 15th-century Malay sultanate and the Portuguese and Dutch periods beginning in the early 16th century. Featuring residential and commercial buildings, George Town represents the British era from the end of the 18th century. The two towns constitute a unique architectural and cultural townscape without parallel anywhere in East and Southeast Asia.

Related Books:
Penang Sketchbook
Penang: Through Gilded Doors
Penang Postcard Collection: 1899-1930s
Malacca Sketchbook
Old Malacca (Images of Asia)

Found this site useful? Show support by Buying Me a Coffee

One Reply to “Congratulations to Malacca and Georgetown for receiving World Heritage status!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.